terewmn.blogg.se

Suprema biomini review
Suprema biomini review






  1. #SUPREMA BIOMINI REVIEW HOW TO#
  2. #SUPREMA BIOMINI REVIEW PDF#
  3. #SUPREMA BIOMINI REVIEW DRIVERS#
  4. #SUPREMA BIOMINI REVIEW SOFTWARE#

I’ve contacted my reseller to ask if they can supply this, and I’ve also contacted Suprema directly. At the time of writing this, it doesn’t seem to be available from their download site either (to me anyway) – there’s a “Download” link on this page, but this redirects me to their downloads search page here…with no search results.

#SUPREMA BIOMINI REVIEW HOW TO#

This was a bit frustrating – I’ve done a lot of searching online and whereas there’s lot of information from Suprema about how great the SDK is, there’s actually very little information about how to obtain this SDK. What didn’t come on the USB pen drive from my reseller was the BioMini SDK. It’s not what I got that’s the problem – it’s what I didn’t get

#SUPREMA BIOMINI REVIEW SOFTWARE#

With the current focus on the security of the Internet of Things (or general lack thereof), knowing that the software you’re running comes from a trusted source is critical.

#SUPREMA BIOMINI REVIEW DRIVERS#

The driver executable I received was unsigned – I wish software distributors would treat the digital signature of their drivers as an important security feature. You can check that the drivers installed correctly by attaching the device, and then looking at the USB devices installed in Windows Device Manager. This was a pretty simple and standard installation – just don’t attach the device until you’ve installed the drivers from the executable. However, you do need to register and log-on to get access to this section. If you acquire the BioMino hardware and there’s no driver shipped with it, don’t worry – you can get the drivers from the downloads section of the Suprema Inc.

#SUPREMA BIOMINI REVIEW PDF#

The package came with a USB pen drive containing the drivers for the device, and a PDF document describing how to install the drivers. When the BioMini arrived, it looked good – the device felt solid and robust.

suprema biomini review

I eventually decided that the C# SDK gave the BioMini an advantage, and bought one from Amazon.

suprema biomini review

I looked at a few more fingerprint scanners, which claimed to capture fingerprint images (technically known as “Enrollment”), but I could find very little explanation of how this would actually be done using code. This advertises a C# SDK, which was a huge selling point for me.

suprema biomini review

This site seemed to have more of the items of hardware that I was interested in – and one in particular jumped out at me, the Suprema BioMini. I prefer the term “scanner” or “sensor” for hardware that produces an image – the term “reader” seems more passive, a function that could be satisfied by software reading from a pre-generated image.Īfter broadening my search using Bing/Google, I found a site which reviewed fingerprint sensors. The phrases fingerprint scanner and fingerprint reader seem to be used interchangeably. This isn’t really what I was looking for – I wanted something from which I could capture an image of a fingerprint. The first thing I needed was hardware – an initial search on Amazon for “fingerprint scanner” returned a few hardware devices, but they looked pretty tied into a single use case – authenticating a user to log into a Windows machine.

suprema biomini review

First thing was to find the right hardware Last month I was asked by a colleague if I knew anything about how to program fingerprint scanning devices – this isn’t something I’ve worked with before, but it sounded interesting so I decided to spend some of my own time researching how to get started.








Suprema biomini review